Thursday, April 18

List: 18 NPP MPs who managed to retain their seats

The New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) parliamentary primaries on Saturday, January 27, were marked by disappointment and surprise, as several prominent incumbents faced unexpected defeats in their bids for re-election.

One significant upset occurred in the Tano North constituency, where Minister of Sanitation and Water Resources, Freda Prempeh, was ousted. Dr. Gideon Boako, the spokesperson for Vice President and NPP flagbearer, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, secured victory with 444 votes, surpassing Prempeh’s 221.

Dome-Kwabenya witnessed another stunning defeat, with Adwoa Safo, the outspoken Minister for Gender, Children, and Social Protection, losing to Mike Ocquaye Jr. He secured a convincing win with 1194 votes, leaving Safo with only 328.

Abuakwa North constituency also experienced a change of guard, as incumbent Gifty Twum-Ampofo narrowly lost to Nana Ampaw Addo-Frempong, popularly known as “Buffalo,” who garnered 222 votes compared to Twum-Ampofo’s 202.

Deputy Minister of Health, Tina Gifty Mensah, faced an unexpected defeat in the Weija Gbawe constituency, where she was defeated by Jerry Ahmed Shab, who polled 786 votes to Mensah’s 361.

These surprising defeats sent shockwaves through the NPP, raising questions about voter sentiment and the future dynamics of the party.

Additionally, Minister for Public Enterprises, Joseph Cudjoe, lost the Effia primary in the Western Region to Isaac Nyarko Boamah, a financial analyst, and Sheila Bartels lost the Ablekuma North poll with 637 votes to Akua Afriyie, who polled 756.

Some notable retained NPP MPs are (Adansi Asokwa), KT Hammond, (Asokwa) Patricia Appiagyei, (Manhyia South) Matthew Opoku Prempeh, (Awutu Senya East) Mavis Hawa Koomson, (Ablekuma West) Ursula Owusu-Ekuful and (Ayawaso Central) Henry Quartey.

Below is the full list of all incumbent NPP MPs who participated in Saturday’s primaries


Asunafo North: Evans Bobie Opoku –

Tano North: Freda Prempeh – Lost

Asutifi North:Patrick Banor


Adansi Asokwa: KT Hammond – Retained

Afigya Kwabre North: Collins Adomako Mensah

Afigya Sekyere East: Mavis Nkansah-Boadu

Asante Akim Central: Kwame Ayimadu-Antwi

Asante Akim North: Andy Kwame Appiah-Kubi —

Asante Akim South: Kwaku Asante-Boateng

Asokwa: Patricia Appiagyei – Retained

Atwima Kwanwoma: Kofi Amankwa-Manu

Atwima Mponua: Isaac Kwame Asiamah – Lost

Atwima Nwabiagya South: Emmanuel Agyei Anhwere

Bantama: Francis Asenso-Boakye – Retained

Bosome Freho: Akwasi Darko Boateng – Lost

Juaben: Ama Pomaa Boateng

Kwadaso: Kingsley Nvarko

Mampong: Kwaku Ampratwum-Sarpong

Manhyia North: Akwasi Konadu

Manhyia South: Matthew Opoku Prempeh – Retained

Manso Adubia: Yaw Frimpong Addo

Manso Nkwanta: George Kwabena Obeng Takyi – Lost

Nsuta Kwamang Beposo: Adelaide Ntim – Retained

Obuasi East: Patrick Boakye-Yiadom

Obuasi West: Kwaku Agyemang Kwarteng

Odotobri: Emmanuel Akwasi Gyamfi – Lost

Offinso North: Ntim Augustine Collins

Old Tafo: Vicent Ekow Assafuah

Subin: Eugene Boakye Antwi – Lost


Berekum West: Kwaku Agyenim Boateng

Dormaa Central: Kwaku Agyeman Manu

Berekum East: Nelson Kyeremeh

Sunyani West: Ignatius Baffour Awuah

Bono East

Pru West: Jalulah PambiinStephen


Mfantseman: Ophelia Mensah – Retained

Hemang Lower Denkyira: Bright Wireko-Brobby – Lost

Abura Asebu Kwamankese: Elvis Morris Donkoh – Lost

Gomoa Central: Naana Eyiah

Awutu Senya East: Mavis Hawa Koomson – Retained

Agona West: Cynthia Mamle Morrison


Nsawam/Adoagyiri: Frank Annoh-Dompreh – Retained

Abirem: Osei John Frimpong – Lost

Abuakwa North: Gifty Twum-Ampofo – Lost

Ofoase/Ayirebi: Kojo Oppong Nkrumah

Kade: Agyare Alexander

Lower West Akim: Charles Acheampong – Retained

Asene Akroso Manso: George Kwame Aboagye

Nkawkaw: Joseph Frempong

Atiwa East: Abena Osei-Asare – Retained

Mpraeso: Davis Ansah Opoku

Akim Swedru: Kennedy Osei Nyarko

Suhum: Kwadjo Asante – Lost

New Juaben South: Michael Okyere Baafi

Fanteakwa South: Kofi Okyere-Agyekum – Lost

Fanteakwa North: Kwabena Amankwa Asiamah – Lost

Achiase: Kofi Ahenkorah Marfo

Greater Accra

Bortianor Ngleshie Amanfrom: Sylvester M. Tetteh – Retained

Dome Kwabenya: Sarah Adwoa Safo – Lost

Ablekuma North: Sheila Bartels – Lost

Ayawaso Central: Henry Quartey – Retained

Anyaa Sowutuom: Dickson Adomako Kissi – Rejected

Ablekuma West: Ursula Owusu-Ekuful – Retained

Amasaman: Akwasi Owusu Afrifa-Mensah – Lost

Tema Central: Yves Hanson-Nortey – Lost

Weija Gbawe: Tina Gifty Naa Ayeley Mensah – Lost

Trobu: Moses Anim – Lost

North East

Walewale: Lariba Zuwera Abudu


Zabzugu: Jabaah John Bennam – Lost

Nanton: Mohammed Hardi Tufeiru – Retained

Yendi: Umar Farouk Aliu Mahama

Mion: Musah Abdul-Aziz Ayaba


Daboya-Mankarigu: Mahama Asei Seini

Salaga North: Alhassan Abdallah Iddi

Upper West

Sissala East: Amidu Chinnia Issahaku – Retained


Tarkwa-Nsuaem: George Mireku Duker – Retained

Kwesimintsim: Prince Hamid Armah – Retained

Sekondi: Andrew Kofi Egyapa Mercer

Efia: Joseph Cudjoe – Lost

Shama: Samuel Erickson Abakah – Lost

Mpohor: John Kobin Abbam Aboah Sanie – Retained

Takoradi: Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah – Retained

Western North

Bibiani-Anhwiaso Bekwai: Alfred Obeng-Boateng

Sefwi Akontombra: Djornobuah Alex Tetteh