Friday, February 23

Greece, Latvia, Puerto Rico and Spain to host FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments 2024

The FIBA Executive Committee has confirmed the hosts of the men’s FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments 2024.

The National Federations of Greece, Latvia, Puerto Rico and Spain have been awarded the hosting rights of the four FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments, which will be played from July 2 to 7, 2024, in the cities of Piraeus, Riga, San Juan and Valencia.

A total of 24 teams will compete in four FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments in 2024. Nineteen teams qualified through the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023, which was held in the Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia. The remaining five teams to make up the competition were the winners of the FIBA Olympic Pre-Qualifying Tournaments held in August this year.

The winner of each FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament 2024 will claim their ticket to the Olympic Basketball Tournament at the 2024 Olympic Games, joining the seven teams who already qualified directly to the Olympic Games from the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023, plus the event host, France.

The official Draw Ceremony for the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments 2024 will take place today 19:00 CET at the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball, FIBA headquarters.

The ceremony will be live streamed via FIBA’s YouTube and Facebook channels.

The draw for the FIBA Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournaments took place in October and the results can be found here.

About FIBA 
FIBA ( – the world governing body for basketball, is an independent association formed by 212 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognized as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).